The quaint wooden hotel, built in 1930, has a wonderful atmosphere. The lobby, lounge, restaurant and bar are decorated
with historic artifacts and photo's. Some of the rooms are romantically furnished with brass beds and antique wash basins.
Around the hotel, and on the hill next to it, there are cabins and log structures of every size and age.
The resort features a restaurant, saloon, hostel, RV parking and campground. Nearby is a state-maintained airstrip.
The bubbling hot springs of Circle produce 386 gallons of steaming water each minute. Some of it flows into a -more or less-
'Olympic size' swimming pool that belongs to the resort hotel. The hot spring water is also used to heat the hotel.
For many years it even warmed and irrigated sumptuous vegetable gardens that were famous for their superb produce.
Local Athabascans used the hot springs as a gathering place long before the first gold miners arrived in the area.
The first non-native to discover the springs was William Greats, in 1893. In the years that followed many miners spent
their winters at the springs, using tents for bath houses, when the creeks were too frozen to work.
The resort is located off a spur road of the Steese Highway, eight miles from the town of Central.