photo sharing and upload picture albums photo forums search pictures popular photos photography help login
Doug J | profile | guestbook | all galleries | recent

Profile for Doug J
Name Doug J (joined 10-Dec-2002) (pbase supporter)
Username dougj
Email
dougjmail-pbase1@ yahoo dot com
Personal URL http://www.pbase.com/dougj
Statistics
View Galleries : Doug J has 33 galleries and 2201 images online.
These pages have been viewed a total of 9105759 times.

View Guestbook : 85 messages. Most recent on 19-Nov-2012.


Message from Doug J
Welcome! I hope your visit to my galleries is enjoyable - seeing some of the people, places and creatures we share the world with through my eyes and lens.

Current cameras: Canon S100, 30D, 1D Mark III - oldies but goodies :)
Current lenses: A variety of Canon lenses that cover wide angle (17mm) through super-telephoto (Canon EF 800mm).
Ancillary gear - Various tripods, tripod heads, gimbal, various strobes/flashes & flash extenders.

My primary birding system today is a Canon 1D mark III, 580EX II, flash extender, battery packs, Gitzo 3541XLS, 4th Dimension Mongoose M3.6 gimbal head. The lenses are Canon EF 100-400mm L IS II L, EF 300mm f/2.8 IS and EF 800MM f/5.6 IS, with Canon 1.4x or 2.0x TCs as needed.


== A partial list of non-commercial organizations that have published Doug’s work ==


Nature Awareness & Conservation:
American Bird Conservancy -http://www.abcbirds.org
ARKive – Wildscreen, Promoting conservation through wildlife imagery - http://www.arkive.org/
Avibase - Bird Links to the World -http://avibase.bsc-eoc.org/
AvianWeb -http://www.avianweb.com/index.html
BirdGuides –http://www.birdguides.com/webzine/article.asp?print=1&a=3140
Bird Life International – Conserving the World’s Birds -http://www.birdlife.org/
Bird Note -http://www.birdnote.org
Canadian Wildlife Federation -http://www.cwf-fcf.org/en/resources/magazines/wild
eNature.com – Bringing nature to life
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) –http://eol.org/
International Union for Conservation of Nature -http://www.iucn.org
National Geographic -http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/2013/06/10/on-the-origin-of-really-shiny-species
Nature Kenya – The East African Natural History Society - Birds of Dakatcha Woodland Important Bird Area -http://www.naturekenya.org/
Ozanimals.com – Australian wildlife
Rainforest Alliance –http://www.rainforest-alliance.org/community-forestry/regions/nicaragua
RSPB - Royal Society for the Protection of Birds -http://www.rspb.org.uk/
Santa Clara Valley Audubon Society, California -http://www.scvas.org
Scientific American -http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=saving-the-ugly-species
Scientific American - Turkeys vs peafowl, the great debate
The Nature Conservancy
Tropical Biology Association - African biodiversity conservation and research –http://www.tropical-biology.org/
Union of Concerned Scientists –http://www.ucsusa.org/scientific_integrity/solutions/big_picture_solutions/the-endangered-species-act.html
Wildlife Conservation Society
World Wildlife Fund (WWF) – Land of the Birds of Paradise -http://www.worldwildlife.org/home-full.html


Government:
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: National Program on Environmental Health-Biodiversity
California Department of Food and Agriculture
San Francisco Department of the Environment
US Department of Agriculture


Educational:
American Printing House for the Blind - Address: Earth -http://www.aph.org
Arizona State University - Bird Coloration
Chicago University Press - The Ornaments of Life: Coevolution and Conservation in the Tropics
Cornell University - All About Birds
Cornell University - Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Harvard University Press - Bird Coloration, Volume 2: Function and Evolution
Oxford University - Primary English series
Yale University - Evolution - An introduction
University of Washington - Conservation In Practice

Museums, Zoos & other:
American Museum of Natural History -http://www.amnh.org/
Field Museum, Chicago, Illinois -http://fieldmuseum.org/
St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London
London Zoo, UK
Columbus Zoo & Aquarium, Ohio
Houston Zoo, Texas
Jurong Bird Park, Singapore
Taronga Zoo, Australia
Central Florida Zoo & Botanical Gardens
Idaho Zoo, Idaho Falls -http://www.idahofallsidaho.gov/city/city-departments/parks-recreation/parks-recreation-zoo/zoo-information.html
World Association of Zoos and Aquariums –http://www.waza.org/en/zoo/visit-the
Random Doug J pictures