photo sharing and upload picture albums photo forums search pictures popular photos photography help login
Gnanathanappan Ramachandran | profile | all galleries >> India >> States & Union Territories tree view | thumbnails | slideshow

States & Union Territories | Wild Life in India

States & Union Territories

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive. A Prime Minister of India appointed by the President is the head of government and generally the leader of the party that has won the majority in the general elections. A Chief Minister in India is the elected head of government in the state level. The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. There are 28 states and 7 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him.
Tamil Nadu
< Tamil Nadu >